Joy

JOY

The joy I have in my life comes from God. The joy from the rest is temporary.

And to be honest, much of life is difficult, sorrowful, sad, painful, unfair. It doesn’t make sense. I see death, illness, difficulties all around me, and in my own life.

So clearly, my joy isn’t coming from those things, which don’t last. Times without difficulties are rare and brief, and are the exception, not the rule. Most of life is the hard story; the rest is the intermission, the break, the brief respite before the next storm.

My joy comes from an inner source. It comes from knowing God, and being close to Him. He loves me, this I know…

I am struggling through a hard, tough spot right now, a painful season. It’s been a long season. And I’m hurting and waiting for answers and wondering when the pain will end and how this problem will be solved, and frankly I don’t have a clue. I don’t have a clue.

It is amiss to say I don’t have joy. I feel the Father’s love around me, and that gives me joy. I may feel sorrow but I also feel joy, the joy of His love around me and being close to Him, knowing Him. What is the rest, in this world? Temporary. Icing. A little bit of sweet. But His is the True Love, the Real Deal, the Source of Joy.

The good news is that I’ll  be there one day, with God and then finally… “my joy will be complete.” My joy will no longer be tempered by the pain of this world.

Until then, pressing on….

***

Sharing with Gypsy Mama’s Five Minute Friday writing prompt: Joy

~ by pathoftreasure on September 16, 2011.

Thank you for your gracious comments!

 
